to join the CVG community. Not a member yet? Join now!

San Andreas ready to rock: Soundtrack CD track listing revealed

From Rage Against the Machine to Willie Nelson via Cypress Hill, with just about everything else in between...

After we brought you news about San Andreas' radio stations earlier today Rockstar have been in touch with the full track listing - but only for the soundtrack CD.

Yup, those tricky drip-feeders are keeping us waiting for the full, uncensored tune line-up, but there's plenty of aural excitement to be had from browsing the eclectic procession of beats below.

Stand out tracks at the moment are the vicious Killing in the Name of by Rage Against the Machine, Cypress Hill's undoubtedly West Coast funk-up How I Could Just Kill a Man, and Faith No More's rocking Midlife Crisis.

As a bonus track we'll get a cover version of Nine Inch Nails' Head Like a Hole performed by Californian punk band AFI exclusively for the GTA: San Andreas soundtrack.

You'll also get an exclusive DVD called 'The Introduction', which, according to Rockstar, is a "cinematic prologue to Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas". We haven't been able to confirm this with Rockstar but we reckon this movie will be constructed with the game engine visuals like an extended cutscene, and will tell the story of CJ's return to San An. Some "familiar faces" are promised to make surprise cameos (Tommy?) and if we know Rockstar there'll be some nice bonuses hidden in there for eagle-eyed viewers.

To be totally honest we were hoping for a few bigger names on the double CD soundtrack, but with Rockstar's musical taste being as impeccable as it is we're sure everything will make sense when we hear it. And anyway, if you want to be a real completist you'll be able to pick up an eight-disc boxset featuring every song in the game.

The double soundtrack CD and eight-disc boxset will be available in the UK and Europe from November 22, and in the US from November 23.

The full track listing is still under wraps and we'll bring you the full line-up as soon as we know it. Here's the double CD tunes for you to browse.

CD 1
1. The Theme From San Andreas
2. Rage Against The Machine - Killing In The Name
3. 2 Pac - I Don't Give A F**k
4. James Brown - The Payback
5. Ronnie Hudson - West Coast Poplock
6. Guy - Groove Me
7. Eddie Money - Two Tickets To Paradise
8. Cypress Hill - How I Could Just Kill A Man
9. The Maytals - Pressure Drop
10. Slick Rick - Children's Story
11. Rick James - Cold Blooded
12. Raze - Break 4 Love

CD 2
1. Ohio Players - Funky Worm
2. Heart - Barracuda
3. Compton's Most Wanted - Hood Took Me Under
4. Lyn Collins - Think About It
5. Public Enemy - Rebel Without A Pause
6. Faith No More - Midlife Crisis
7. Bell Biv Devoe - Poison
8. Max Romeo & The Upsetters - Chase The Devil
9. Eric B & Rakim - I Know You Got Soul
10. Willie Nelson - Crazy

Bonus Track:
11. AFI - Head Like A Hole