Blog

PCG UK Vs PCG US TF2 Match

Someone's sprung a leak.

From: Tom Francis [tom.francis@futurenet.co.uk]

To:
Jon Hicks [Jon.Hicks@futurenet.co.uk],
Tony Ellis [tony.ellis@futurenet.co.uk]
Alec Meer
"james.stables@futurenet.co.uk" [james.stables@futurenet.co.uk],
craig pearson [craig.pearson@futurenet.co.uk],
Graham Smith [graham.smith@futurenet.co.uk],
"tim.edwards@futurenet.co.uk" [tim.edwards@futurenet.co.uk],
Ross Atherton [ross.atherton@futurenet.co.uk],
Daniel Vincent [daniel.vincent@futurenet.co.uk],

Date: 12 Feb 2008 20:05
Subject: Re: Post-match PR damage control

Body:

Look, this needn't be a big deal. If we manage it right, no-one ever has to know that PC Gamer US won. Just off the top of my head, I can think of a few strategies we could go with:

Option 1: What Match?
Simply pretend it never happened. Fake e-mails sent at the time of the match to all PCG US staff, angrily asking where they are and why their Team Fortress 2 server is completely empty.

Option 2: Why, What Does Your Replay Show?
We send the demo file to our Valve contacts and request that they alter the outcome. Also ask them to testify that PCG US's version of the file shows evidence of tampering.

Option 3: Extreme Evasion
Extensively cover the match without ever mentioning who won it, hope readers don't ask.

Option 4: Selective Memory
Extensively cover, and I mean extensively cover, round 3. Commiserate our US cousins on their defeat, reassure them that they played well despite the result, and imply without directly stating that they never really had a chance.

Option 5: US Vs Them
Quickly change our Steam names to theirs and claim that the 'US' was to clarify that it was us, PC Gamer UK. The downside of this, and I'm not sure it's a price we're willing to pay, is that we'd have to adopt that awful 'coconut monkey' as our mascot.

Whichever one we choose (and I'm leaning towards 1 for simplicity's sake), please delete this e-mail as soon as you've read it. That reminds me, Graham, did you ever find out who was hacking your work mail and leaking all that stuff about you and the Second Life prostitute?

-

Tom Francis
www.pcgamer.co.uk

On 12/02/2008, Ross Atherton [ross.atherton@futurenet.co.uk] wrote:
>
> You're all fucking fired.
>
>
> - Ross
>
>

Comments