Valve's Gabe Newell awarded industry honour

Popular exec wins Pioneer gong at Game Developers' Choice Awards

The 2010 Game Developers Choice Awards has given its coveted Pioneer prize to Valve's Gabe Newell.

The Pioneer Award - which originated at the Game Developers Choice Awards 2008 - celebrates individuals 'responsible for developing a vital technology or game design at a crucial juncture in video game history, paving the way for the many who followed them'.

Newell will be on stage to collect his Special Award at GDC 2010 in San Francisco this March.

Over 3,000 of the industry's top developers will be present at the Choice Awards ceremony to honor him.

Newell is being awarded 'for his work in co-creating the PC key digital download service Steam, and helping to make possible some of the most important video games of the past two decades - from the Half-Life series through Portal to Team Fortress and beyond'.

This year, the Choice Awards Advisory Committee includes notables such as Ben Cousins (EA DICE), Harvey Smith (Arkane), Raph Koster (Metaplace), John Vechey (PopCap), Ray Muzyka (BioWare), Clint Hocking (Ubisoft).

Jolly well done, Mr Newell.