Diablo 3 'Paragon System' extends endgame longevity

Blizzard addresses lack of high-level content with huge update

Blizzard admitted the lack of endgame content in Diablo 3, and its answer to this issue is the new 'Paragon System'.


"The new Paragon system coming in patch 1.0.4 is designed to address Magic Find gear-swapping while providing players who've reached level 60 with an extended progression system," says the developer.

Here's how it all works, in Blizzard's words:

  • After you hit level 60, any further experience you earn from killing monsters will begin to count toward Paragon levels
  • There are 100 Paragon levels
  • Every Paragon level will reward you with:
    - Core stats such as Strength, Dexterity, Intelligence, and Vitality in amounts similar to what you'd gain from a normal level
    - 3% Magic Find and 3% Gold Find
  • In addition, a distinctive increasingly-impressive border will surround your character portrait in the in-game party frame to denote your Paragon progression, with a new frame earned after every ten levels. Your Paragon level will also be visible to other players wherever your normal level is shown

"The first Paragon level should take about as long as it took most players to get from level 59 to 60, and the experience requirement will rise from there," Blizzard goes on to explain, so that should give you plenty to be getting on with.

If you're interested in reading the thinking behind the update with a more detailed account of Blizzard's creative process, check out the official blog post.

Blizzard says full patch notes and a release announcement for patch 1.0.4 is coming "in the days ahead".