to join the CVG community. Not a member yet? Join now!
CVG
News

Shiny legendary Pokemon to be distributed at Game and Gamestop

Get your free shiny Dialga, Palkia and Giratina

Nintendo will be distributing three shiny legendary Pokemon at participating Game and GameStop stores in the UK and US.

Shiny versions of Dialga, Palkia and Giratina, the cover legendaries from Pokemon Diamond, Pearl and Platinum, will be distributed on a fortnightly basis starting from the end of August. Each will be at level 100.

Zoom

For those not in the know, legendary Pokemon are among the most powerful in the game. They're usually notoriously difficult to catch, and usually only appear once in each game.

Shiny Pokemon are far rarer still. When you encounter a Pokemon there's a 1 in 8192 chance that Pokemon will be shiny, meaning it has a different, rare colour.

Combining this with the fact that each legendary only appears once in each game, the odds are so ridiculous that this is really the only way to get shiny versions of these three legendaries.

To get each shiny legendary, you have to go to a participating Game or Gamestop with your DS or 3DS and your copy of Pokemon Black, White, Black 2 or White 2. These are the dates each legendary will be distributed:

Gamestop stores (US)
Shiny Dialga: Monday, August 19 to Sunday, September 8
Shiny Palkia: Monday, September 9 to Sunday, September 29
Shiny Giratina: Monday, September 30 to Sunday, October 20

Game stores (UK)
Shiny Dialga: Friday August 30 to Thursday September 12
Shiny Palkia: Friday September 13 to Thursday September 26
Shiny Giratina: Friday September 27 to Friday October 11

The upcoming Pokemon X & Y will be the first Pokemon game released exclusively on 3DS. Nintendo has announced a worldwide Pokemon X & Y release date of October 12.

Comments