to join the CVG community. Not a member yet? Join now!
CVG
News

Gamescom 2013: Your essential calendar

All the dates, times and live streams you need

Europe's biggest video games expo, Gamescom, is set to kick off in Cologne this week - and here's everything you need to keep up to date with the announcements from Germany.

The show's organiser Koelnmesse has said it expects 275,000 visitors to attend the convention, with more than 600 exhibitors having signed up to show off their wares.

Zoom

Crucially, the event will also offer the latest information on the impending launch of next-generation console hardware, with both Sony and Microsoft set to hold key press briefings from Cologne.

On Tuesday Sony promises to discuss "the future of all things PlayStation", including news on both announced and unannounced titles.

Microsoft has also teased "unique exclusives" for the event, with undoubtedly a plethora of Xbox One info also on hand.

CVG has assembled its most talented workforce to cover all the angles and you can expect high profile interviews, the latest videos and trailers, live blogs and video streams, analysis and reaction, and the fastest and most reliable news output around the clock.


Tuesday, August 20

Xbox Gamescom 2013 Showcase Event

Microsoft's unique Showcase event will open with a "a really short stage presentation with some news," according to studio VP Phil Spencer, followed by presentations to the media. "Unique exclusives" are promised.

  • When:10:00am BST (2:00am PT/5:00am ET)
  • Coverage: Full news coverage on CVG
  • What to expect:
    • Xbox One: Latest on Forza 5, Ryse, Killer Instinct, Project Spark, Dead Rising 3 and more
    • Xbox 360: New looks at Fable Anniversary and World of Tanks: Xbox 360 Edition

Electronic Arts Gamescom 2013 Press Conference

The publishing giant promises to showcase the latest information on Battlefield 4, Need For Speed Rivals, Plants vs. Zombies Garden Warfare, FIFA 14, EA Sports UFC, Command & Conquer, the unveil of The Sims 4 "and more".

  • When: 3:00pm BST (7:00am PT/10:00am ET)
  • Coverage: Live video, Live blog and full news coverage on CVG
  • What to expect:
    • Battlefield 4: New mode, map and Premium content revealed.
    • Sims 4: First look
    • FIFA 14: Next-gen and current-gen gameplay
    • Plus: Need For Speed Rivals, Plants vs. Zombies Garden Warfare, UFC and Command & Conquer reveals

Sony PlayStation Gamescom 2013 Press Conference

The platform holder is planning a typically strong showing in Germany, where it says to expect a showcase of "the future of all things PlayStation", including news on both announced and unannounced titles.

  • When:6:00pm BST (10:00am PT/1:00pm ET)
  • Coverage: Live video, Live blog and full news coverage on CVG
  • What to expect:
    • PS4 date: Sony has pledged to reveal its 'release plans for PS4'
    • Assassin's Creed: Series writer Darby McDevitt is set to appear

Wednesday, August 21

Blizzard Gamescom 2013 Press Conference

The World of Warcraft studio has arranged a media briefing for the morning of Gamescom's opening day. Blizzard president Mike Morhaime has confirmed that the studio will be "sharing more Diablo-related news."

  • When:10:30am BST (2:30am PT/5:30am ET)
  • Coverage: Full news coverage on CVG
  • What to expect:
    • Diablo 3: The reveal of possible expansion 'Reaper of Souls'
    • World of WarCraft Recent trademark 'The Dark Below' could relate to an MMO expansion

Phil Spencer Keynote

The Microsoft Studios boss will provide the opening keynote to Gamescom, in which he plans to discuss "the impact of new hardware, accessories and software for the next generation of games."

  • When:6pm BST (10:00am PT/1:00pm ET)
  • Coverage: Full news coverage on CVG

Comments