to join the CVG community. Not a member yet? Join now!
CVG
News

The Last Guardian PS3 listed on Amazon

May hear more at E3 next week

A listing for The Last Guardian has surfaced on Amazon's US website, adding fuel for further speculation about the long-delayed title.

The game is listed for release on PlayStation 3 on December 31, 2014, though that is likely a placeholder date. Here's Amazon's product description:

Zoom

"The Last Guardian is the third game by the acclaimed development staff behind ICO and Shadow of the Colossus. In the game, a young boy and a bizarre, gigantic creature form a heartfelt bond as they attempt to maneuver their way through an unfriendly world."

We've asked Sony about the listing and will update this article with any response. We may hear more at Sony's E3 2014 press conference scheduled for Monday, June 9 at 6pm PT (9pm ET / 2am BST on June 10).

PlayStation software development head Scott Rohde said in March that The Last Guardian is "absolutely in the mix" at Sony's Worldwide Studios. Last year, SCE worldwide studios boss Shuhei Yoshida told CVG that it was waiting for the right time "to re-announce it".

Reports in October that suggested the game is being "re-engineered" has sparked rumours the game will release for PS4, clashing with the Amazon listing.

Originally announced at E3 in 2009, the project's status was first called into question when lead designer Fumito Ueda resigned from Japan Studio in late 2011.

Comments