News

PlayStation Gamescom 2014 press conference dated

Sony event to take place on the evening of August 12

The PlayStation Gamescom 2014 press conference will take place on August 12, Sony has announced.

Due to be held at Staatenhaus am Rheinpark in Cologne, Germany, the media preview event will kick off at 7pm local time (6pm UK / 1pm EST / 10am PST).

Zoom

2013's PlayStation Gamescom press conference was a big deal. Sony used the event to announce the PS4 release date and software launch line-up, plus price cuts for PS3 and Vita.

Gran Turismo 6 was also dated, Borderlands 2, Fez and Football Manager Classic 2014 were announced for Vita, while Resogun and Minecraft were confirmed for PS4.

With PS4 sales topping seven million units as of April 6, Sony's latest console will no doubt be central to the upcoming event.

In contrast, Sony Computer Entertainment CEO Andrew House said this month that the future of Vita is uncertain everywhere but Japan.

Gamescom would also appear to be the ideal event to announce European launch plans for PlayStation Now.

In March, Gamescom organiser Koelnmesse announced the first wave of exhibitors for this year's event.

Among others, Bethesda, CD Projekt Red, Crytek, Deep Silver, EA, Konami, Microsoft, Nintendo and Ubisoft have been confirmed for Gamescom 2014, which will take place in Cologne from August 13-17.

Koelnmesse said the number of companies that signed up to exhibit during the early booking phase for this year's event was up 50 per cent compared to 2013's total.

Other confirmed exhibitors include Bigpoint, Riot Games, Wargaming, Nvidia and Oculus Rift. Valve may also be preparing to showcase the new Steam controller to expo attendees.

Related
Live Blog

Watch again: Sony Gamescom 2013 press conference

All the announcements as they happened.

Comments