to join the CVG community. Not a member yet? Join now!
CVG
News

Metal Gear Solid V The Phantom Pain multiplayer reveal on Thursday

New 25-minute game demo to be shown later this week

Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain's multiplayer offering will be revealed this Thursday, August 21.

It will be shown during a 25-minute video premiering on IGN at 3am PT / 6am ET / 11am BST / 8pm AEST.

Zoom

The demo was first shown to press behind closed doors at Gamescom last week. In addition to offering the first look at the title's multiplayer component, it features open-world exploration and shows how the day-night cycle affects mission gameplay.

Series creator Hideo Kojima offered a fresh look at The Phantom Pain during a presentation last week, when 17 minutes of new gameplay footage was released.

Kojima provided CVG with a few details about The Phantom Pain's online features in an interview conducted at E3 in June.

Each player will have their own customisable Mother Base, an off-shore facility which houses resources and can be upgraded using in-game currency.

"People who want to create a Mother Base in a very detailed way will be able to design it through the interface, or using their smart device," he said.

"I cannot talk too much, but for people who saw the presentation, it ends with your Mother Base being attacked. People can infiltrate you, and you can infiltrate other people's Mother Base."

Related

Comments