News

Borderlands 2 free to play on Steam this weekend

Play from now until 9pm (UK time) on Sunday

2K Games has made Borderlands 2 free to play until Sunday.

According to a news post on the Steam site, the game can be downloaded and played at no cost as part of a 'free weekend' promotion.

Zoom

During this free period, players will also be able to buy Borderlands 2 for 75 per cent off the normal price.

This means the standard version of the game currently costs £4.99 / €7.49 / $4.99, while the Game Of The Year edition (including eight DLC packs) is priced at £8.74 / €11.24 / $9.99.

The free-to-play period ends at 9pm UK time (1pm Pacific time) on Sunday, August 24, while the 75 per cent off sale concludes at 6pm UK time (10am Pacific time) on Monday, August 25.

Borderlands 2 is 2K's best-selling game of all time, having sold around 10 million units since its release in 2012.

In CVG's Borderlands 2 review, we said: "Light on story and heavy on guns. Borderlands 2 is saved from XP strip-mining by a sharp sense of humour and a slick, destructive multiplayer."

Comments