Xbox One launching in 29 new countries this month

Release looms for Japan, China, South Africa and numerous European countries

A total of 29 countries will finally get the Xbox One throughout September.

Japan, China and South Africa will be among the territories who have been eagerly awaiting the launch of Microsoft's third console.


They will be joined by a number of 'second tier' European countries who missed out on the November 2013 launch, including Poland, Greece, Netherlands and Turkey.

The full schedule of launch dates is as follows:

  • Tuesday, Sep 2 - Chile, Colombia
  • Thursday, Sep 4 - Japan
  • Friday, Sep 5 - Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates
  • Monday, Sep 15 - Israel
  • Tuesday, Sep 23 - China, Hong Kong, India, Korea, Singapore, South Africa, Taiwan
  • Friday, Sep 26 - Russia

"I know that many of you have waited patiently since we first announced Xbox One, and it has been very important to both me and the team that we launch with a great experience in your market," head of Xbox Phil Spencer said in a statement on the official Xbox Wire blog.

"For gamers in Argentina, we'll have more to share on our launch plans shortly. We can't wait to see everyone playing on Xbox One very soon."